Under the Black Cross

Despite the band’s seventeen year existence, I’ve not had the pleasure of hearing any of Pentacle’s old-school styled Death Metal before now. Best described as Classic Death Metal in the vein of early Celtic Frost & Possessed, ‘Under The Black Cross’ is rough, raw & relentless.

A concept album based on a WWII Naval battle, what we have here is 9 songs worth of pummeling, authentic Metal. Everything from the instrument tones to the song arrangements literally scream “old school”, but most definitely not contrived. This is the real deal. Every song, including the Necrovore cover, is a ripper.

Pentacle is a band not interested in redefining the genre, but rather reminding us what real Death Metal sounds like. They do not waver, they do not falter, they do not fail. ‘Under The Black Cross’ should be on every Metal fan’s want list.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shawn Pelata
October 26th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Revocation - Netherheaven
  • Dark Forest - Ridge & Furrow EP
  • Greylotus - Dawnfall
  • Brymir - Voices in the Sky
  • Slaughterday - Tyrants of Doom
  • Behemoth - Opvs Contra Natvram
  • And Now The Owls Are Smiling - Epitaph
  • Heads For the Dead - III: The Great Conjuration
  • Defacing God - The Resurrection of Lilith
  • I AM - Eternal Steel
  • Megadeth - The Sick, the Dying... and the Dead!
  • Xenobiotic - Hate Monolith EP   
  • Necrambulant - A Feast of Festering Flesh EP
  • Hilning - Råtijinn
  • Sedimentum - Suppuration Morphogenesiaque