Point Blank Rage
The Sound of Resistance

You’d expect a little more from Galy and especially from a band featuring Alexandre Leblanc of Neuraxis/Atheretic fame, but I guess when you are in two highly complex bands, this sort of downtuned, simplified death metal tinged hardcore could be construed as some sort of alternate release of musical desires that you other projects can’t allow. Well it’s a good thing Leblanc and his various no name Canadian cohorts got their bud at Galy to release this, as I’m pretty sure no one else would.

Either way, this is pretty dull stuff; a sort of Six Feet Under/Jungle Rot simplicity meets basic Floridian death metal and any number of uber chunky down tuned hardcore/deathcore bands. Generally mid paced with occasional blasting flourishes and Leblanc delivering a gruff roar/shout and its all pretty yawn worthy. Only the stout drumming of Julien Mercier (ex-Aphasia) is the only worthwhile element to this lifeless slab of metal.

The 8 tracks are the rudimentary opposite of Atheretic and Neuraxis, which I guess is the whole idea. 31 minutes of solo-less rumbling, bass heavy grooves and even the occasional blast beat doesn’t make it any more memorable. In fact, there’s not a single moment or riff I can recall except maybe the stop/start riff of “Blueprints to Depression” or promising opening rumble of the title track, but other wise it’s like Hatebreed and Malevolent Creation’s (during their lesser moments) had some sort of illegitimate child, and this one deserves to be put in a dumpster.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
October 23rd, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Saor - Origins
  • Municipal Waste - Electrified Brain
  • Conjurer - Páthos
  • Intoxicated - Watch You Burn
  • Inanimate Existence - The Masquerade
  • Demiricous - III: Chaotic Lethal
  • Kreator - Hate über alles
  • Enshroudment - As the Light is Extinguished EP
  • Hanging The Nihilist - Prophetic Blasphemy
  • Cabinet - Claustrophobic Dysentery
  • Origin - Chaosmos
  • Nekkromaniac - Plague Eater
  • Alestorm - Seventh Rum of a Seventh Rum
  • Abythic - Eden Of The Doomed EP
  • Writhing Shadows - Writhing Shadows