Blood Harvest EP

Could it be that death metal is making a comeback in the good ol’ UK? With Mithras, Man Must Die, Detrimentum, Spearhead, Sarpanitum and now the debut EP from Porkfarm, it appears so….

Compacting enough brutality and savagery into 6 songs to warrant any death metal fans attention, Blood Harvest is a death metal/grindcore mash up that does almost everything right as far as blunt force trauma and technical voracity, without being either a Unique Leader styled blast fest or a downtuned, sloppy goregrind groove fest.

Granted, its hardly original or quite as amazing as the likes of Detrimentum, Mithras or Sarpanitum, but its got a gritty, earthy and visceral appeal that replaces savage intricacy with a primal, forceful presence that has a tangible sense of classic death metal amid its throes. Whereas a band likes Mithras or Sarpanitum slice and dice with a clinical precision, Porkfarm rip and tear like the 300 lb Russian wild boars in Hannibal.

From opener “Suffer” through personal favorites “Torn Apart” and “I Shall Hack” to closing bonus track “There’s No way Back” Pork farm are direct, efficient and more to the point, brutal. The only real gripe I have is with the overly mechanical, almost programmed sound kick drum, but that does no stop me from looking forward to full length album sometime in the future.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 7th, 2008


  1. Commented by: Dan

    Love the name, but, my initial reaction is gonna have to be a sorrowful ‘meh.’ Sure its fast and brutal, but nothings grabbing me beyond that. I turn to Benighted when I’m in the mood for this kind of modern sounding brutal death metal. Those dudes really know how to do brutal hooks.

  2. Commented by: Deepsend Records

    Thanks Erik! Another killer review. Anyone interested in purchasing this monster, it’s only $6 US or $8 World postage included.


  3. Commented by: Reignman35

    VERY solid album. As a brutal death fan myself, these guys add a little grind to the mix, and along with some meaty production they churn out a beast. I think the name is gay, but the music owns your damn face.

  4. Commented by: Dan

    Hey Deepsend!!! Sign Benighted!!

  5. Commented by: Dan

    While you’re at it, sign MY band! Goat Witchery rules!!!!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu