Summon the Hordes

You’d think it was 1988 all over again, what with Opprobrium (then Incubus) releasing albums (also on High Roller Records), Jeff Becerra and Possessed roaming around after 37 years, and now another early death/thrash band, Protector has released a solid album also, though this band’s hiatus wasn’t as long, they went dark for a long while in the 00s.

I have to confess, I’m not very familiar with the band’s lengthy catalog dating back to the band’s debut album Golem in 1998, as my only real experience was seeing the band’s albums in record shops while perusing for Iron Maiden, Metallica and Slayer albums in the late 80s. Back then, the LP cover was why you purchased albums, and I could never pull the trigger, thought I thought the Logo was awesome…

Thanks to print magazines and distro catalogs, I was aware that the band resided in the same realm as some of the above mentioned bands as well as country mates Kreator and Sodom, with a nastier take on thrash that went more death metal in the band;s later catalog. And this appears to be reflected in Summon the Hordes, a gritty, retro death thrash album with sole remaining original member Martin Missy (aided by  a largely Swedish contingent of veterans from bands like Axis Powers, Grief of Emerald and Bestial Mockery)  at the reigns with his raspy blackish vocals.

It’s all pretty solid stuff, armed with a nice crisp production, with one foot in pure thrash such as “Steel Caravan”, “Realm of Crime”, “Summon the Hordes” and Slayer-y “Meaningless Eradication”  there are some more beefy deathlier, blacker standout riffs here and there such as “The Celtic Hammer”, “Two Ton Behemoth” and “Three Legions” and a couple of tracks that driver a solid mix of both (i.e “Unity, Anthems and Pandemonium”).

Like the the recent release from fellow 30 year vets and label mates Opprobrium, I can’t say that any of it jumps out at me or has me craving it, like some of their legendary peers, but its a solid enjoyable release from 30 plus year act that still belongs.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
June 18th, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP