The Hate, The Hollow

As I first heard Milwaukee’s Protestant on their As Dead As We Look release and now their  latest full length, I’m more confident in anointing this group as the heir to the mantle left by Cursed; crumbling, antagonistic and sludgy but intelligent hardcore with a few segments of well placed and thoughtful ambience, all wrapped up in a nasty, gritty production and a merciless vocal assault.

With plenty of splits, 7″ and other such DIY releases under their belt, its good to hear an  actual collection of songs designed for a the bands second full LP/CD release as it comes together more coherently and delivers a complete and more fluid set of songs.

Look no further than openers “Disbelief” and “The Hate, The Hollow” for a six and a half minute look into Protestant’s sound: earthy, caustic power chords broken up by a back breaking lurches and pain fueled vocals. “Disgrace” initially slows things down with a somber chug before unleashed a bitter torrent and an eventual, song ending calamitous groove. “Neglect” goes straight for the jugular while “Obituary” shows the band again slowing down to a creepy, somber ooze before again exploding in fury. “Free Us From…” just rips with savagery and “Disowned” is the albums ‘catchiest” track while 6 minute closer “Asleep” has a rangy, hazy ending few minutes that serves as a modicum of respite.

Folks, this is no nonsense, no frills, no trends hardcore from a hardworking, DIY ethic band that has no desire to be rock stars and an equally DIY hard working label-check ‘em out

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
September 6th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal