Sacrilegious Purification EP

Here is the debut, 6 song EP (after a couple of demos) from one man Swedish death metal act Putrified. A. Death (also of black metal act Infuneral) plays all of the instruments, performs vocals and does a pretty good job of it as well as capturing the essence of old school death metal with a heavy dash of Dark Funeral -ish black metal here and there.

The black metal influence makes sense considering the Infuneral link (A. Death has since been joined by other Infuneral members as well as an ex Onskapt and Dodsfall member), this certainly melds that element impressively into more traditional Swedish death metal resulting in a pretty cool sound. You get some of the atmospheres and scrawling, galloping, d beat riffs, gravelly vocals, mid range guitar tone and doomy strains (such as the opening title track or “Sacrificial Death Salvation” and slower closer “Sacred Putrefaction”), then you get some hyperblast frosty-ness as heard in “Pestilentialis”

The 22 minute run time is decent for a 6 song EP, and while certainly influenced by a couple of obvious scenes, there’s a little off kilter and unhinged about the delivery. “This Poisoned Chalice”  and the blistering highlight “Evocatio” show just a little hint of the demented but perfect balance on display and the promise of a full length album down the road (I hope).

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
September 12th, 2014


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu