I’ve been in a strange mood lately; life has gotten tense in recent weeks, and I’ve been looking for an album to help me release that tension and wouldn’t you know it… this wonderful slab of Existential Black Metal and second full-length from one man maestro Devi Hisgen. The history books of Heavy Metal are full of great one-man bands, the mighty Falkenbach comes to mind right away, as well as Furze and Furis.

The Existential Black Metal experience that Teitan create begins with “Menstrual Blood and Pomegranate” a fantastic name for an opening track and an amazing one it is, a riff like a fucking prion squirm in the membrane of the song keeping it grim but also… romantic. Yeah, I said it; ro-man-tic. Within the foul corpse of In Oculus Abyss there’s a sense of romance lost. Brilliant single tracks “Insectoid” and “Murder Me” form the backbone of In Oculus Abyss, while tracks like “Public Masturbation”, “Gang Mahal” and closer “Purple Void” show true emotions in the chords. An awesome album, indeed. I can safely say that this album will continue to be in my rotation for the foreseeable future.

The other day I had this album on repeat, I think I listened to it about twenty times in a row, which is a long time considering it’s a forty-six-minute album. I formed an intimate bond with the flow of In Oculus Abyss. But here comes the for fans of because, why not? First and foremost is Deathspell Omega; the atmosphere that Devi has created on In Oculus Abyss is palpable and ominous, a sense of impending doom permeating the nine tracks. Teitianblood as well as DHG and Mayhem (especially their Grand Declaration of War and Wolf’s Lair Abyss albums.) I’d also add Happy Days and An Autumn for Crippled Children to the list, as well. In Oculus Abyss is a great full-length that deserves your attention. Get it, got it, good.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jeremy Beck
July 19th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Stellar Remains - Wastelands EP
  • Acrid Death - Abominable Presence of Blight
  • Apparition - Fear the Apparition
  • Morta Skuld - Creation Undone
  • House of Atreus - Orations EP
  • Spectral Voice - Sparagmos
  • Hellman - Born, Suffering, Death
  • Blood Red Throne - Nonagon
  • Hulder - Verses In Oath
  • Ghoul - Noxious Concoctions EP
  • Chaos Sanctuary - Instrumentality
  • Mega Colossus - Showdown
  • Mind Conflict - Temple of God
  • Necrowretch - Swords of Dajjal
  • Wolves of Perdition - Ultra-Violence