The Blackout Argument
Munich Angst/Munich Valor

Here’s two separate EP’s preparing the hardcore/metalcore world for the band’s Lifeforce Records debut, Decisions that will be released later this year. Munich Angst is a re-release of the bands 2006 MCD and Munich Valor is an EP of 6 newer tracks and neither gets me too excited for the forthcoming album.

Plying a form of melodic, emotional melodic hardcore/metalcore that will have some appeal to fans of With Honor and other (Victory based) contemporary hardcore/screamo bands, The Blackout Argument are a far cry from some of their far heavier German country mates and at times, older Avenged Sevenfold comes to mind. Lots of clean vocals catchy, punky riffs and dramatic screams and commercial structures litter tracks like the radio worthy duo of “Maybe Yesteryear” and “Murder What’s Already Dead” from Munich Angst, and I can certainly see zee Hot Topic crowd getting into their tunes.

There’s no real discernable difference between the two releases musically, but maybe Munich Valor has a slightly better production and more polished clean vocals. It also seems to lack to two sure fire single sounding tracks of Munich Angst with maybe only “So Much You and Me” registering as high on the ‘catchy’ scale.

I can’t say I’m exactly looking forward to Decisions later this year, but I’ll check it out to see if the band has improved or adding anything to their rather tired and clichéd but honest sound.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 18th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream