Through Your Silence
Whispers to the Void

Through Your Silence is a metalcore/deathcore band from Italy. While not terrible at what they do, Whispers to the Void does little to change my mind about deathcore or offer up anything new.

All the expected elements are here – chugging breakdowns, the occasional blast beat, Gothenburg melody, vocals that work as a balancing act between typical growls and hardcore shouts, and a nice slicked up production – but what’s not here is anything that makes a true attempt to standout from the hordes of the similar, or anything all that memorable. The guitar tone tends to be a bit on the weak side as well.

There’s not really a lot of diversity here, but to their credit, some attempt has been made to do so. The title track, “The Groom” (a song not written by the band that appears to be, judging from the lyrics, some sort of ode to Islamic suicide bombers), and “Failure” include female vocals scattered throughout. “Warchildren” closes out with strings and piano in a very mellow fashion and “Winter Came” features an acoustic break around the songs middle mark. Outside the above mentioned elements, the songs tend to run together. If I’m not paying close attention, it’s hard to tell when a song has ended and another has begun.

As I said before, Whispers to the Void isn’t particularly terrible – if it was playing at a gathering in the background, I wouldn’t be covering my ears or looking to smash the stereo – but the end result is nothing more than mediocre and rather boring.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Larry "Staylow" Owens
September 10th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu