Times of Grace
The Hymn of a Broken Man

For those who have ever wondered what Killswitch Engage would be like―and I know every fan has―if original vocalist Jesse Leach had stayed with them, you may finally get a little bit of an idea with the release of Hymn of a Broken Man by Times of Grace. It’s the creative collaboration of lead Killswitch Engage guitarist Adam Dutkiewicz and Jesse that’s sure to take fans of Killswitch Engage (obviously!), All That Remains, Shadows Fall and anything else related to what the Massachusetts  based metal scene has been spitting out over the last decade or so.

The album starts out with “Strength In Numbers”, a track that fades in with a marching style beat on the snare and then kicks in for the attack with a rather inspiring manifesto by Leach that’s sure to rile up any moshpit across the nation… and even the world.  Right off the bat you will be impressed by the work he’s put into his vocals since his time in Seemless and even The Empire Shall Fall.

Now don’t expect any two songs on this album to be the same, it seems to have a very healthy range of everything to do with rock and heavy metal without straying too far from their individual style.  Such as the song “Until the End of Days” which picks up with a clean melody with a touch of delay to give it a ballad kind of feel to it, but then hooks you with a sluggish stoner rock type of chorus. It’s definitely a song that can send you on a roller coaster of emotional trances.

The boys even extend out to “The Forgotten One”, an all-acoustic track that begins with a mellow blues lick and carries on in a style reminiscent of Bad Company and Zakk Wylde’s solo work.  It’s definitely a little more radio-rock friendly than most would expect of them but still carries out a darker  yet heartfelt tune that’s sure to capture the attention of just about any listener.

Now I wouldn’t make a solid judgment just on these examples, there is still plenty of hard hitting riffs and breakdowns to please any metal connoisseur  yet leave room for the listeners who enjoy the more smooth side of metal while hitting all the stops between the two extremes.  This is definitely an album that will have a song for virtually any mood one would happen to be in at any given time.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Derek Taylor
January 28th, 2011


  1. Commented by: Mark

    The Empire Shall Fall is a thousand times better, I was wanting so much more when i heard about this about a month ago.

  2. Commented by: Jesse Wolf

    Great review man!

  3. Commented by: Staylow

    Nice review man, though I was unimpressed with this one. I knew nothing of it until recently, got excited, listened to it, and immediately was disappointed. Some of the heavier/faster stuff is OK, but the rest I found boring. Oh well, The Empire Shall Fall is still awesome.

  4. Commented by: faust666

    The Empire Shall Fall is indeed much better. Also, I can’t stand Adam D for some reason.

  5. Commented by: Derek

    Hey guys thanks for the feedback, this was my first one too so i was a little unsure of how it would go over

  6. Commented by: Derek

    but yea i thought it could have used more tracks like strength in numbers though.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Black Hole Deity - Profane Geometry
  • Todesstoss - Das Liebweh-Dekret
  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal