The Unborn Dead
Primitive Origins

What is in the water in Canada? Between Gorguts, Kataklysm, Cryptopsy, Beneath the Massacre and numerous other, the hockey-loving country to the north has turned out a veritable who’s-who in the death metal world. And does anybody remember an unsigned band named Vengeful that dropped one of the best death metal albums of the year in late 2009? Well we have another unsigned Canadian gem that goes by the name The Unborn Dead.

These guys play a hard-charging straight ahead modern death metal sound, similar to The Cleansing or Syn:Drom. The album starts out with an intro that actually has a purpose – instead of being some over-used horror movie sample or pointless ambient noise, it begins with a solid instrumental that really helps to set the stage for what is to come. The intro to the new Hate Eternal is an excellent comparison. Not having to hit the skip button on the first track is a welcome change and endeared me to the album before it even began.

Track two hits you right in the throat and the album never lets up from there. Mixing groove and heft in a glorious mixture, from start to finish this album just works. Vocalist Stefano Manera has a low, indecipherable growl that fits the music perfectly, while guitarists John Murphy (ex-Vomit Remnants) and Steve Watson man the axes. They even mix in some Beneath the Massacre/Neuraxis style technical leanings which help to add an interesting element to an already tight sound. The highlight of the album, however, is drummer Johnny Macri. The band mixes tempos quite often, and the start-stop syncopation between the drums and guitars heard in almost every track is masterful in its precision. Macri can stop and start on a dime as well as bring the pain with some warp speed double bass work. Think Raymond Herrera and early Fear Factory.

The longest track on the album, “Pieces”, is where the band really shines in mixing all its strengths into one. Lurching from fast to slow and mixing in some raspy vocals at the start, two minutes in you get a solid breakdown/slam part that is bound to drive the pit crazy. More tempo changes follow before leading to a solid solo at the three minute mark which takes the foot off the gas just a bit. Then back to pure death metal destruction. The album washes, rinses and repeats this formula throughout its thirty-five minute duration, but it never seems to wear thin when it’s pulled off this well.

For an unsigned band the production is rock-solid. The vocals, drums and guitars are clear and sharp, and the bass is definitely there but doesn’t jump out at you. A little research turned up that the album was produced, mixed and mastered by Greg Dawson of B.W.C. Studios in Brampton, Ontario. I’m not familiar with him, but he should have plenty of work on his plate if this album is any indication of his skill. Between four re-recorded tracks from their 2008 EP and seven new ones, overall this is one hell of a debut full length. Any labels looking to add some death metal strength to their lineup should definitely keep an eye on The Unborn Dead.





[Visit the band's website]
Written by Kevin E
July 18th, 2011


  1. Commented by: Jesse Wolf

    Dude awesome review. I’m going to check this beast out now. \m/

  2. Commented by: Reignman35

    Do it… Killer album. These guys should get snatched up soon…

  3. Commented by: theorifice

    Macri was my roommate and these dudes slay live!

  4. Commented by: Evil In U

    Sounds like something I would like. Will check them out.

  5. Commented by: brutalmaster

    murphys guitar riffs are weak and gay like george michael – not brutal at all. check these guys on you-tube —–major morons especially the guitar

  6. Commented by: garth brooks

    Sounds like brutalmaster is interested in slobbering over this bands reproductive organs

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon
  • Anthropophagus Depravity - Demonic Paradise
  • Downcross - White Tower