Unconventional Disruption
In a Life of Death to Nothing EP

With their debut self released EP, Italy’s Unconventional Disruption has simultaneously added to 2009s self released excellence (Belakor, Cephalectomy, Kalisia, Vengeful, Avicularia) and to Italy’s impressive, growing death metal scene, (Hour Of Penance, Fleshgod Apocalypse, Vomit the Soul, Gory Blister).

With a chunky, angular, down-tuned sound, these five excellent songs reminded of a more controlled version of Yattering’s Genocide mixed with Gojira the way they lurched and staggered with brutality and complexity. The production on this EP is massive with a huge thick guitar tone and deep resonant rhythm section that rumbles and lopes with a mechanical, steam engine powered heft. The vocals alternate between a super deep grindcore growl and a few screams here and there. There are even a couple of well placed samples to introduce a couple of the tracks.

Each of the 5 songs posses a character and pacing that warrants the attention of any death metal fans or fan of technical, but not overly or noodly, busy death metal. From the choppy girth of opener “Bleeding Breed”, through the uber hefty lurch of “Denaturalization of Ground”, angular groove of “Melting in God” to huge closer “Recititude?”, Unconventional Disruption becomes a rather apt name for this talented act that should be a big blip on the tech death radar very soon.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 21st, 2009


  1. Commented by: Roberto

    Thank you for the good review (i’m unconventional disruption’s bass player)

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Bodom After Midnight - Paint the Sky with Blood EP
  • Morbid Breath - In the Hand of The Reaper EP
  • Becerus - Homo Homini Brutus
  • Zaratus - In The Days of Whore
  • Journey Into Darkness - Multitudes of Emptiness
  • Dalriada - Őszelő
  • Dyskinesia - Micturating Deposits of Grit Through the Urinary Tract EP
  • Phlebotomized - Pain, Resistance, Suffering EP
  • Silver Talon - Decadence and Decay
  • Detritivor - Scattered Remnants
  • The Plague - Within Death
  • Vreid - Wild North West
  • Throne - Pestilent Dawn
  • Obsolete - Animate/Isolate
  • Demiser - Through the Gate Eternal