Vale of Pnath
Vale of Pnath EP

I like what Tribunal records has done recently; Asecretdeath’s impressive debut, re-releasing Inferi’s solid 2009 self released debut then re-issuing two of 2008s better self released efforts; Iron Thrones’ brilliant Visions of Light, and the self titled debut EP from this young but immensely talented Denver, Colorado quartet.

Though only 4 songs and 18 minutes in length, there’s is more than enough skill, energy and blistering, technical metal to make it worth your time. Vale of Pnath’s sound is one that’s hard to categorize. They are at their roots a melodic death metal act, but with a blazing sense of pace and complexity. To me, they sound like Arsis with their uber busy almost chaotic, but melodic fret play but with a more brutal, modern hefty metalcore/ deathcore sheen and vocals (think label mates Inferi or From the Shallows on crack or a burlier, more talented polished and technical version of Wretched) . But not a single whiff of trendiness, scenester bullshit, breakdowns or wanky arpreggio overkill. Just sheer, slicing melodies and complexity.

Armed with a punchy Dave Otero production, all four excellent tracks simply rip with a confidence and skill that not too many young acts can deliver on a debut. The balance between intricate melodies and slicing, dicing ferocity is perfect, particularly on “A Witness To…” The only thing I’m curious about is if the band can sustain this energy and melodic, technical tenacity for 10 songs and 45 minutes or so and hold my attention like these four tracks did. The more controlled gait that starts “Dens of Iniquity” makes me think they can change it up if they desire.

If you have the original demo, the only thing different is the artwork, so no need to rush out and buy this, but if you have yet to hear this very promising EP, I highly recommend to check it out right now.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
June 24th, 2009


  1. Commented by: plaguemyheavensblack

    Tribunal has always been one of my favorite labels. Solid releases since the 90’s

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing