Weak Aside
Forward Into Darkness

On Weak Aside’s last album, The Next Offensive, I had to go after the band’s lackluster moniker as the everything was else was so damn solid. This time, the German warmongers are just as good as before, so I’ll go after that eyesore of an album cover….

I digress, Forward Into Darkness continues the band’s confident and competent Bolt Thrower, Jungle Rot, Hail of Bullets, God Dethroned throes – musically, vocally, and thematically  (with a little more emphasis on U-boat warfare here it seems), with 9 songs and one intro (“Submerge”) of quality chugging, lumbering, trundling death metal.

The focus is mostly mid-paced, double bass driven death metal with a few faster moments thrown into the fray (“Royal Blood Dethroned”, “Violence”, “Face Down”) but the meat and potatoes of the album is the likes of opener “Until you Died”, “Contact”, ” In the Deep there is no God”, “Poison Gas ” and the somber closer “The End” which all deliver satisfying rumbles and grooves in spades.

There’s not much more to expand on. Vocalist Tom Zorn has both and imposing growl and a dead-on Martin Van Drunen scream, the production from Thilo Krieger and master/mix from  Jörg Uken is beefy and hefty, there are some melancholic  Bolt Thrower-ish solos (“We’re all Condemned”, “The End”)  and the end result is another fine album from these grizzled Germans and the always reliable FDA Records.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 7th, 2018


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Veriteras - The Dark Horizon
  • Pestilence - Levels of Perception
  • Sonata Arctica - Clear Cold Beyond
  • Necrocracy - Predestiny
  • Replicant - Infinite Mortality
  • Zombi - Direct Inject
  • Mastiff - Deprecipice
  • Wristmeetrazor - Degeneration
  • Lvme - A Sinful Nature
  • Chapel of Disease - Echoes of Light
  • Houwitser - Sentinel Beast
  • My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding
  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh