Hammer The Bastards

I try and keep myself open to covering things that normally don’t float my boat, hence me taking a break from deathcore and technical death metal to take stab at the third album from the UK’S black/crust act Wolfbastard.

But they had a couple of things going for them; ‘Wolf’ and ‘Bastard’ are two of the coolest words in metal, and so is ‘Hammer’. And also my history with the label Clobber Records who have some of the UKS better black metal acts in Argesk, Shadowflag, Wolvencrown and ...And Now the Owls Are Smiling.

However, Manchester’s Wolfbastard is not like any of those bands, being a filthy, crusty, mid era Darkthrone smeared version of Martyrdod or other d- beat, ‘DIS’ type band, and their sneering 13 song, brisk Slayer-esque, 31-minute assault, is a feral, snarling, sneering release is a perfectly nasty reprieve from all the other stuff I listen to.

I’ll make this as short and to the point as the album. With song titles like “Fear the Exxxekutioner”, “Nun Krüsher”, “Graveyard Slag”, “Pissing on the Sacred Ground”, there’s no surprises as to what you are getting here. Punky, ripping, power chords with some blackened furor and sneering, gravelly vocals spewing things like ‘leather studded boots, sweat-drenched denim, face shredding riffs,  relentless ripping hell, pissed stained floors’, (“Fear the Exxxekutioner”), the sound is hammered home (see what I did there?) with confident, hateful ferocity from start to finish.

Some more sneaky, pure black metal, tremolo-picked ‘melodies’ appear here and there amind the hard-charging crust as heard later in”Morbid Fucking Hell” or “When Will It End”, but for the most part, its mainlining black/crust heroin into your veins at high-pressure numbers, like “Returning Evil”, “Death Creeping In”,  “Buckfast Blasphemies” and”Black Friday” and a killer, nasty little romp of a record.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
February 8th, 2022


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon
  • Anthropophagus Depravity - Demonic Paradise