Night of the Werewolf

As promised, more songs based upon novels by the Hungarian musical wizard, or is it demon? Last time the narrator found himself transformed into a demon, this time the songs are based upon the novels of John Caldwell. Demons once again reign. The orchestration is less aimless, more dynamic and more tightly structured as distinct songs. As before this is technically not a metal project. I’ll mention it now and get back to it later, Nagy Andras of Sear Bliss and Tomi Kalliola of Azaghal contribute vocals. Is that metal enough for you?

Now for the play by play. “Thamen Oteth” has an ominous undertone with deep resonating spoken vocals and harsh death vocals. The melodies are wandering, or maybe sauntering happily. The demon actually says “this is how you will kick the bucket.” Nagy and Gabriel share the vocals. “Shadow of Zrogdavar” is a lengthy composition featuring Gabriel’s high pitched shrieked vocals, low in the mix so as not to overpower the piano. Very effective deep spoken words as well as background chorus chanting help fill out the song. It has a slow pace with very simple melodies flowing throughout. The drums are subtle. It sounds like a musical backdrop to a Hollywood style satanic ritual. There is a long passage in the middle without vocals. The pace gets more frantic at the six minute mark and the vocals get harsher. the melodies are still very precise but get more hurried, higher pitched.

“Varaniju” is a highlight, and not because it is based on a novel of the same name co-written by Gabriel Wolf. It is somber music with some beautifully played piano solos and a tuba intro. The vocals are by Tomi Kallilola and have an interesting echo effect. The best thing I can say about this song is that it went by quickly, I lost track of time. I was surprised to find that it is nearly seven minutes in length. “Dark Side of Chaos” has a bit of a middle eastern flair and has clean vocals throughout. Another lengthy affair, this one sees the narrator transported to the land of the living dead. “Ytir” is about a demon locked in a bird cage. It features a faster pace, more up-tempo. The harsh shrieked vocals would be truly piercing if louder in the mix. The simple rhythm dominates and the melodies are a bit softer.

“Night Of The Werewolf” is both the first and last songs. The last track is a death industrial mix of the first, and is utterly forgettable. The techno beat drives you crazy. What a way to end an album. If you liked Trilogy of the Night, get this one too, if you didn’t this one is not different enough to warrant your attention. Overall, I find Ywolf to be a pleasant distraction from my usual listening pleasures, and I think this disc will see play just as much as the first one has. Recommended.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Grimulfr
August 7th, 2003


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness