Ravenous Compulsion

Do you like early Asphyx? Do You like early, Drunen led, Consuming Impulse Era Pestilence? Then the always reliable FDA Records has a release for you, the full length debut from German death metal act Evoked, and it’s a scorcher of an album, despite its clear influences.

Culling heavily from The Rack as well as the Malleus  Maleficarum and  the aforementioned Consuming Impulse (just listen to “Desolate Animation”), Ravenous Compulsion, is pure old school European (well, clearly Dutch) styled death metal done really well. Not only does it have clear and concise influences that will please old school fans, both in its song writing and paint peeling production (and Drunen-ish shrieks and howls of frontman…….) , they add enough of their own quality spin to make it more than just a simple homage.

Ironically, the opening song is called “Resurrect the Source” , and I thought for damn sure I had accidentally started playing The Rack.  The likes of “Not of Human Flesh”, the title track , “Festering Alive” and aforementioned “Desolate Animation” follow suite with a no frills, old school, ripping energy that’s as authentic as I’ve heard in a long time and I half expected the opening riff from “Out of the Body” to trample from the speakers at any time.

That said, songs like closer “Putrid Faith”, with its catchy little stomping trot and “The Trophy” and “Into Obliteration” show the band are not merely just ripping of their idols, but bring a solid song craft of their own to the table. I just wish there was a slower burning number akin to Asphyx’s “The Rack” to complete this very solid album.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
November 6th, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • PeelingFlesh - Slamaholics Vol​. ​2 EP
  • Endstille - DetoNation
  • Linus Klausenitzer - Tulpa
  • Dripping Decay - Festering Grotesqueries
  • Moonlight Sorcery - Horned Lord of the Thorned Castle
  • Heads for the Dead - In the Absence of Faith EP
  • Shining - Shining
  • Flesher - Tales of Grotesque Demise
  • My Dearest Wound - The Burial
  • Cannibal Corpse - Chaos Horrific
  • Come Horrid Sigil - Dead Obelisk EP
  • Undergang - De syv stadier af ford​æ​rv EP
  • Ethereal Tomb - When The Rivers Dry
  • Graveripper - Seasons Dreaming Death
  • Mortem Obscuram - The Wretched Divinity