Fit For An Autopsy
Oh What The Future Holds

It’s a shame when a band, especially one so far into their career, doesn’t know who or what they want to be. With a discography in the range of good to great, unfortunately it feels like this is where we find deathcore veterans Fit For An Autopsy. I’ll explain…

While the opening track, which is also the title track, is a short beating, complete with a solid breakdown, something is missing. That something is the production. While it’s not bad, there’s not enough bite. It sounds clean and dare I say, safe?

Moving past the intro and further into the track list, track 3, “Far From Heaven,” has an absolutely palpable Gojira influence. It sounds like it from the very beginning, too. It’s not subtle. Just listen to those vocal passages. While they do add a little bit of their own spin to it, even the early breakdown/tempo change sounds like a traditional Gojira elephant stomping riff. You know the kind. Boy, oh boy.

“Two Towers,” which is track 5, has probably already been consumed by anyone who cares to read this, as it’s one of the singles dropped for the album. It’s the longest track up to this point, and frankly sounds a lot like modern-day Whitechapel. It’s not a bad track by any means, and they once again put a little of their own spin on the influences, but that influence is once again clear.

There are of course a few tracks contained here that sound like latter era Fit For An Autopsy. Specifically, I am referring to “In Shadows” and “Savages.” While the former didn’t stand out to me, the chorus of “Savages” is pretty solid, if not simplistic, but the songs overall, don’t make too much of an impression.

The final one I’ll mention is the closer, “The Man That I Was Not.” The track itself is the longest here, and those crooned vocals will definitely remind you of Phil from Whitechapel. That influence is ever-present again. While it’s quite an excellent closer and the ending breakdown is niiiiiiiice, it’s difficult not to make comparisons. So, back to what I said at the beginning.

It probably sounds like I’m trashing this album. Let me be clear that I’m not. It’s fine. It’s fun, and maybe there shouldn’t be more to it than that, but my “job (heh, I said “job”),” is to be critical. I felt like their last album, The Sea of Tragic Beasts was a transitional album. With that being said, Oh What The Future Holds feels like the same. There’s nothing wrong with a band trying to branch out and evolve their sound. Sometimes it works, and despite all major outlets fellating this album all the way to the balls, this really doesn’t.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by J Mays
January 20th, 2022


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing