Grand Demise of Civilization
The Blaze of Abaddon

Minnesota’s Grand Demise of Civilization returns with their fourth full-length album. If you are not familiar with Grand Demise of Civilization they play a unique style of black metal. Part of what makes their sound unique is their use of eight-string guitars mixed with unbelievably relentless drum work. “The Redeemer of Wrath” kicks off the record and is the longest song on the album. Once the guitars start and the ferocious drum work of Patrick Ruhland. The guitar work of Jason Notebaart and Dan Lerach is super catchy. The addition of Alex Gorgos on bass and third vocals adds further depth to their unique sound.

“Cathedral Reaper” is next and opens with a blistering riff that reminds of a mix of groups like Dark Funeral, Immortal, Abigor, and at times Blut Aus Nord. After around the two-and-a-half-minute mark, you get one of the heaviest parts of the album so far. “Silencer” is one of my favorite tracks and has one of the coolest intros of any of the tracks on the record. There is no shortage of atmosphere or technical proficiency across the board.

“Nephilim” opens with a nice acoustic guitar passage before things pick up and other instruments join. There is a lot to like, and I enjoy their mix of heaviness, melody, and dissonance.“North of Hell” is one of the most avant-garde-sounding songs on The Blaze of Abaddon. This is one of the most locked-in albums for a USBM band as I have heard in a long time.

“The Consequence” finishes up this incredibly impressive release. The overall diligence in song construction across the board makes this one of the best albums of the year so far. I think this release will do very well for these guys and I would anticipate wonderful things to come their way. If you are looking for an excellent United States Black Metal band with an original approach, then this it to a tee. Absolute evil.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
June 27th, 2024


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon
  • Anthropophagus Depravity - Demonic Paradise
  • Downcross - White Tower