Musick Brings Injuries

Holy Mother Of God. This band OWNS. End of. There really is no need for me to continue, if you like death metal, scratch that, if you love death metal then you need this disc and if you love utterly putrid, massively slamming death metal then YOU MUST HAVE THIS DISC!!!! Hailing from Russia, Katalepsy specialize in churning out savage beatdown death metal that has been bought forth into the masses consciousness through the likes of Suffocation, Internal Bleeding and more lately, Devourment and a host of a million other underground entities.

The only detriment to this disc is that it is way too short, seriously how the hell am I supposed to survive with 25 minutes of material? Mind you, its more then their countrymen Abominable Putridity, who keep promising a full length but as of yet there is nothing showing, anyway, back to Katalepsy. From the opening blast of ‘Gialo,’ they don’t let up, keeping it blast, slam or just plain pummel, the beatdown right after the sample in this track typifies the Katalepsy philosophy, to pound your face in till it starts bleeding. The mayhem continues there out, not wasting a single second to make every note count. They even include 2 butchered covers, brutalized to the point where they are rendered hideously disfigured from their original forms (I won’t spoil who, you’ll have to buy to find out).
What’s more impressive with Katalepsy’s work is that they are able to make each piece distinguishable. A recurring hindrance of brutal death metal, especially of this vein is allow it to lapse into monotonous formula and bore the listener. Katalepsy do not fall into this pitfall, they know what they want to do, know how to do it and ensure that the final result is what the envisaged in bringing forth.

Thus, a very, very impressive if brief debut, and its very endearing to see the virus of brutal death metal spreading beyond its recognized demographic boundaries.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Benjamin DeBlasi
May 9th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP