The Repository

Soulflesh Collector’s ongoing quest to rule in the death metal underworld continues, and again, they’ve enlisted more talent from outside their homeland (Russia) to aid in their endeavor. Hailing not too far from label mates Human Parasite, this five man Belgian killing machine specializes in an altogether more sinister strain of brutal death metal than that of their French brethren. The proportion of slam is marginalized in favor of more intricacy, complexity, shifting song structures that oscillate wildly but their key differentiator is the cold, clinical feel that resonates throughout the album. Their approach had me thinking of how Carcass handled their legendary third album “Necroticism,” due to the Belgians being so acutely precise with each element of their repertoire.

That said, the song titles at first glance would have you thinking that this is some third rate goregrind duo with a hyperactive drum machine and not a technically skilled band, especially the likes of ‘Surviving the Fivefouled Fitted Fistfuck,’ and ‘Shitworld (Fecal Fest).’ Luckily though, this is as banal as it gets with the album, as it confidently splices influences ranging from the aforementioned Carcass (approach), Suffocation (what brutal death metal band isn’t), and the Unique Leader roster circa 1999 to 2004 (in particular Disgorge (US), Deeds of Flesh, early Decrepit Birth and Severed Saviour).

Key components are buzzing, saw like riffs, dual vocals that contrast gutturals against high pitched screams and of course, maniacal blasting and as mentioned, the slam is somewhat marginalised, but. they are not the complete antithesis of Human Parasite. For example they drop in a Suffocation influenced (it reminded of “Pierced from Within,”) breakdown towards the close of “Peg Out in Gastric Juice.” It doesn’t quite hit the subsonic depths of the New Yorkers but does chug on with purpose. When the band is at their best though, is when they blast, such as the driving ‘Split and Swallow,’ which impressively hits some Deeds of Flesh styled riffing/blasting syncopations.

At times though, the album rattles on a little homogeneously, and there is some filler here and there (the aforementioned ‘Shitworld (Fecal Fest)),’ but that doesn’t stop this from being an enjoyable, if slightly overly misogynistic platter of rampant death metal that has a lot of potential.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Benjamin DeBlasi
March 31st, 2011


  1. Commented by: xiweinx

    This is a kick-ass album.

    What i also want to say: that it’s a real shame that the Unique Leader debut of this drummers other band (Serial Butcher)hasn’t been reviewed here yet.

    Get to work, guys.


  2. Commented by: xBenx

    I think we missed that one, I have it at home so I’ll try and look into it! T

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu