Nemesis Cloak

While I have an affinity for every single metal sub-genre in some way, it’s safe to say some are less “my thing.” Grindcore is one of those, but I do enjoy some once in a while. Some bands just do it right. Some bands are also from my local scene, or more specifically the scene I am doing my best to involve myself. Narakah are both.

This is 18 songs in 20 minutes, or more appropriately 18 bursts in 20 minutes. Before you can even finish an inhale/exhale combination, “Leftover Hamburger,” the first track, and “Crosstream Sumeria” are already over, you’re covered in goo and wondering how your face got fucked without you noticing. It’s the most action I’ve had in a while. Sigh… Where was I? Wait. Moving on…

It’s not until tracks 4 and 5, “The Uzi Crusades” and “Silian Rail,” respectively before samples, an obvious grindcore main stay are introduced. Not only does the drum production and performance start to stand out, but also Adam Bailey’s diverse roars, and that all too important characteristic of being able to spontaneously break into a groove, which happens near the end of the latter.

Before even hearing “Yarler on the Prowl,” which is track 11, I already assumed it was about Scott Stapp or Eddie Vedder. I was right because the only lyrics on this 30 second blast are “Scott Stapp fucking sucks!” I welcome this criticism of him with arms wide open.

The title track is next and it’s only about a minute long, but somehow fits a brief groovy riff into its latter half. The next one, “The Colour of Illusion” stands out a bit more because of the vocal diversity, including some DSBM sounding howls.

That drum performance stands out again on track 16, “Oaky Afterbirth.” That continues into the next two, which end the album, but there’s another groovy riff on “Creepshow Tabernacle” I wish stuck around just a bit longer.

Finally, “Thriving on Mysterious” ends the album. It includes a pinging snare, but also some sewery, slam vocals, and someone who sounds like they’re gasping for breath at the end, which just might fucking be you, dearest reader.

As I said before, this is 18 songs in 20 minutes, so basically an EP for some bands, but probably the equivalent of a double or even triple album for grindcore. Being so short, one characteristic that has to be present for me is repeatability, which this has. I’m giving this high marks as I really enjoy it and I’m certainly picking up the CD version, maybe from the band themselves when I’ll most certainly see them soon.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by J Mays
August 9th, 2022


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain