Resin Tomb
Cerebral Purgatory

2024 is coming in hot. I picked up this promo and a couple more biding my time and waiting for a new release to which I am also looking forward. It’s unnecessary to mention which, but it dropped mere days after I grabbed the debut full-length from Resin Tomb. Those circumstances almost caused me to overlook it, but my almost loss should be your gain.

Firstly, Resin Tomb play skronky, dissonant, technical death metal along the lines of bands such as Gorguts, Ulcerate, and Gigan. Resin Tomb’s brand is perhaps less dizzying and more immediate. Take for instance the opener, “Dysphoria,” which isn’t quite 3 minutes, but has a sort of breakdown nearly 2 minutes in, which also in effect ends the track.

Further on, the title track, “Cerebral Purgatory,” begins with an isolated guitar track, blossoming into a full-on instrumental using a version of that same guitar riff. It feels like this could simply be an instrumental, which would be an odd statement of a title track, but vocals come in with about 2 minutes left. What must be said at this point is that the vocals are reminiscent of Jason Peppiatt from Psycroptic. I only mention this because his vocals don’t do it for certain members of the staff, so perhaps there are a few of you who concur. You’re wrong, though, so go scoop some ass.


It’s also worth mentioning now that this album is 8 songs and 29 minutes, so you’re not getting into a suffocating, hour-long ordeal as you likely would with a new Ulcerate album (although they rule, it’s just a different experience). I’m a big fan of the last two tracks, number 7 being “Concrete Crypt.” That’ll stop the vampires. Despite their overall dissonant sound, there’s also a clarity to the rumble of the guitars throughout, with a heavy low end carrying some of that weight. There’s no shortage of groovy riffs here, which can be said about the entire album.

That also includes the final track “Putrescence.” Slightly over a minute in, the groove is neck snapping, and will induce the “stank face.” My endorsement here is essentially a guarantee. I know stank (insert mother joke here). Just as with the rest of the album, it may be over a touch too soon.

I know I mentioned this is more immediate, and dare I say “catchy” as opposed to some of the other genre heavyweights, but that’s not to say this is an easy listen. There are still layers to traverse, and it will take several listens to grow a true appreciation, but I heavily recommend it. After all, it’s only 29 minutes each time. What is that, a third of a Bell Witch EP? You have the time and the patience. If you stick with it past the immediate “oh, this is good,” you may reach the level I have which says “oh, this is great!” Happy 2024, you nerds.


[Visit the band's website]
Written by J Mays
January 12th, 2024


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness