Unfathomable Ruination
Enraged & Unbound

England’s Unfathomable Ruination return with their third full length Enraged and Unbound.  I must admit I am not too familiar with this group. Unfathomable Ruination play a style of brutal technical death metal similar to: Cryptopsy, Origin and Internal Suffering.  Needless to say these gents waste zero time getting things moving and shaking.

“An Obsidian Perception” starts thing off like consuming a can of Reigns Energy Drink. Does not take long for the speed to kick in.  I love that as intense as the songs are they really do a fantastic job in making their sound their own.  About half way through this one there are some cool layered melodies that really do an excellent job breaking up the pummeling the ears take listening to these tunes.

The title track Enraged and Unbound is one of the groovier tracks on the album and features some colorful harmonized tapping in the beginning before going full circle pit about a minute in. “Codebreaker” is my favorite track on the record.   These guys do an excellent job breaking up the drum work.  For instance these guys don’t need to rely on blast beats every song.  Nothing wrong with thrash beats. Drummer Doug Anderson kills it on this.  I had been familiar with his work in the group Imperium and I feel like his playing on this feels more natural.  The riff work by Daniel Herrera and Rosario Piazza is quite on point.  I love the end “Codebreaker”.  There is a bit of Malevolent Creation Ten Commandments feel going on mixed with mechanical chugs similar to Decapitated.

“Defy The Architect” has a really cool intro build into some groove/thrash pinch harmonic laced phrasing that would make John Gallagher of Dying Fetus proud.  Ben Wright’s vocals would also make John Gallagher proud.  Growls, Gurgles.  Top Notch.

This one definitely took me a few listens primarily because it’s so meticulous for the style. It is a technical album but I would not say these guys overplay.  It’s a brutal album but it’s got melodic hooks.  It’s fast but not monotonous.  The songwriting and variation throughout the album is quite well done. Enraged and Unbound does feature guest vocals from Julian from Benighted and Sven from Aborted.  Guest vocals is a motif that I enjoy when done correctly.

The album also benefits from being mixed by Neil Kernon (Cannibal Corpse, Nevermore, Macabre) and being mastered by Alan Douches.  Capturing a brutal technical death metal album is not easy and these guys have hit a massive home run.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
December 11th, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King