Visions of Annihilation
The Inception of Chaos
Texas brutal death metal newcomers Visions of Annihilation drop their debut album The Inception of Chaos on Brian Ferrell’s Ossuary Industries label. Brian knows good homegrown brutal American death metal and as a huge supporter of the scene he snatched up this band.

They use a drum machine but don’t let that dissuade you. It’s programmed quite excellently and it sounds like a real drummer, especially with today’s technology.  John Trevino plays guitar and Izzy Garcia sings. Looks like they snatched up Wolfred Garcia on bass who may be Izzy’s relative.  9 songs in 44 minutes and the title track starts off atmospheric and light. This is the longest song at over 6.5 minutes the brutality starts promptly at the 1-minute mark making this a great opening Holy Shit moment. Blasts, gutturals, and quite a kick-ass guitar sound. Vocals are still understandable,which I appreciate, and the relentless blasting and vocals will rip your body in half then take it to Costco and ask for its money back because they ordered a full meat suit not one cut in half. The slow down at the 4.42 parts will have people slamming each other in the pit Texas brutality style. The 808 bass drop takes the groove even slower. This is the best part of this song.

“Immaculate Demise” is up next and right into the blasts and alternating between not quite blast type speeds. The dual vocals over some of the blasts will no doubt have you taking Texas-sized steaks and clotheslining people from El Paso all the way to Edinburg Texas. The mid-paced groovy parts are just heavy AF!! The ending part reminds me a bit of Deicide which is ok in my book.

“At the Gates of Torment” starts with a killer opening drum roll and then right into a mid-paced heavy guitar riff that is tank-sized heaviness to the extreme. The guitar tone is catchy and not devoid of melody. You will be able to discern riffs and the clear production truly helps in this department. The middle section has a 90’s inspired brutal death metal approach and the ethereal guitar solos towards the end of the song is easy on the ears and add to the multitude of various sounds.

“Immortal Throne” ends the album with an opening guitar riff that is razor sharp and teaming with an evil underbelly. The blast comes forth and lops your head off as it swirls around you eviscerating you into smithereens. The mid-part groove and ending are highlights.

Visions of Annihilation are a sleeper hit for 2022 with their debut album; The Inception of Chaos. The album cover I want on a shirt and I want it yesterday!!! They write longer songs than your average brutal death metal band. But they also add multiple time changes, solos, and atmospheric moments to keep things from getting monotonous with all the brutality in place. The cd is a nicely laid out digipak and quite honestly this is a band that was not on my radar but now is. Support them, the label, and trust and believe this album fucking destroys!!!
[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
July 27th, 2022


  1. Commented by: Erik T

    This is damn solid- in that Analepsy style of perfect brutal/slam/groove. Ordered right away

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu