Fuming Mouth
Beyond the Tomb EP

Like a dildo to the face when entering a Christian bookstore, last year’s The Grand Descent took me by surprise. I happened to pick it up on a whim, expecting something much different than what that cover art would suggest. I’m glad I did… and I’m glad they have a new release this year.

Unfortunately for all of us, this is only an EP. Fortunately, though, it kicks serious ass. So, let’s break it down. It’s only 3 tracks, so I’ll go over each one, beginning of course with the opener, which is the title track “Beyond the Tomb.” It’s the single and it’s easy to see why. It’s a brutal beatdown with some clean, almost metalcore-esque background vocals in the chorus, solid lead work, and definitely sounds like a Kurt Ballou recording.

Track 2, which is called “Master of Extremity,” is my favorite of the short set. The refrain of “I will return” may be sentimental, but it also feels like a threat. This is a masterclass in skull crushing, downbeat heaviness. Sure, the crust, d-beat, and Entombed-core labels that apply to the likes of Gatecreeper apply, but who can complain when it’s done this well.

On the final track, you might think they would experiment a little, but “Road to Odessa” does not play by your rules. It’s a short, bona fide pummeling to perfectly end this all too short affair.

If you’re somehow confused by what I’ve said so far, I’m not sure what else to tell you. Fuming Mouth is a winner. Beyond the Tomb is a winner. Pick this up, along with The Grand Descent, and you’ll be a winner, too. Ladies love winners.


[Visit the band's website]
Written by J Mays
December 18th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold