Black Future

Here’s another album that caught me completely off guard near the end of the year. Hailing from Arizona, Vektor are yet another young entry into the retro thrash craze, but have a decidedly different approach than most of their peers.

The first thing many will notice before even pushing play are the similarities of Vektor‘s logo and artwork to that of Voivod, and as expected, their influence is present on Black Future by way of adventurous, technical/progressive minded songs and sci-fi themed lyrics. Though as I was told and soon found out for myself, their sound has more resemblance, whether intentional or not, to sadly little known German thrashers Deathrow, namely their Deception Ignored album. There’s also hints of influence from the usual German suspects, though Vektor present it in a more, um, refined way.

The album opening pair of tunes “Black Future” and “Oblivion” make it immediately apparent that this isn’t your usual retro thrash fare – nary a shade of Bay Area presence is felt, instead opting for a more manic and intricate approach rife with unexpected change ups in both feel and pace. These traits only increase as the album progresses, but are most apparent and jarring on the longer songs “Forests of Legend”, “Dark Nebula” and “Accelerating Universe”, each clocking in at 10 minutes or more. The highlight of the album is easily “Forests of Legend” with it’s eerie, clean picked intro which leads into a riff and lead work that recalls Rust In Peace-era Megadeth. From here the song touches upon much more frenzied grounds throughout, and a somewhat psychotic vocal display from David Disanto, moving from his usual high pitched, blackened rasp into an even higher shrieking style and back for great effect. These high-end shrieks are bordering on falsetto high and are peppered all throughout the album.

Though it’s not until that closing pair of “Dark Nebula” and “Accelerating Universe” that Vektor truly reach levels of bat shit crazy. Each of them are still very much in the same mold as previous tunes, but up the ante with more change ups and explore even weirder territory; both breakdown at their mid sections into spacey, bizarre-o land, then return to familiar terrain.

Vektor and Black Future are a breath of fresh air for the thrash world. Hopefully they’ll keep pushing forward the boundaries of thrash as they have with Black Future. From here, their future looks bright, not black.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Larry "Staylow" Owens
January 22nd, 2010


  1. Commented by: faust666

    Good review Staylow.. I’ve been meaning to check this one out for sometime but wasn’t completely sold on the blend of genres..

  2. Commented by: gabaghoul

    cool gonna have to check this out. nice writeup

  3. Commented by: Dimaension X

    This is the first album I’ve listened to start-to-finish in a long time. The great variety of progressive thrash riffage just kept my attention for the length of the album. A very good thing.

    I think I hear more later period Death than Voivod. The vocalist is VERY similar to Chuck Schuldiner’s higher-pitch screech. And the technicality is there too.

    There are a few of those dissonant chord voicings that Piggy used, but much more “Chuck” in this.

  4. Commented by: guyinrubbersuit

    I need to pick this album up. I have their debut and have seen them a couple of times live. They’re a very talented young band and I hope they do great things. Finally some good music to come out of the Valley of the Sun!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Maul - Desecration and Enchantment EP (Cassette)
  • Face Yourself - Tales of Death EP
  • King - Fury and Death
  • Xoth - Exogalactic
  • Tower Hill - Deathstalker
  • Gravestone - Hollow Be Thy Grave
  • Wayfarer - American Gothic
  • Krieg - Ruiner
  • Alchemy of Flesh - By Will Be Done
  • Lightlorn - At One With The Night Sky
  • Sadus - The Shadow Inside
  • Degrave - Volume
  • Mouth For War - Bleed Yourself
  • Black Knife - Baby Eater Witch
  • Félonie - De s​è​ve et de sang